Happy Birthday Douglas Adams!

I was delighted to see the Google doodle today was in celebration of Douglas Adams. It is such a shame that he died so young. I think he was a brilliant man. I remember sitting on my bed for a couple of hours one day, and reading straight through The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. I laughed so hard and I thought so hard and it flew by way too fast. I then devoured the rest of the “trilogy.” I own the movie, and I’ve seen the tv show. And any time there is a question that I don’t know a specific answer to, I say 42. That number, 42, has become a huge part of my life. (Sadly I have not finished all of Adams’ works, but I will at some point, I hope.)

It reminds me to laugh. It reminds me to think. It reminds me that things aren’t always as they seem, and that the only way to fly is to throw yourself at the ground and miss. (Or perhaps not, if you’re a sperm whale.)

I’m very glad to see this small tribute to someone with a huge influence on my life.

Happy birthday Mr. Adams, and thank you for all you’ve done for these mostly harmless folks. Don’t worry, I didn’t forget my towel today.

And a very merry unbirthday to you, dear reader! (Unless of course it is your birthday today. Then happy birthday to you as well.) So many March birthdays, in fact, mine is a week from today! Yay for Pisces. 😉

Leave a Reply

