Dance and Physics

I recently looked up information on physics as applied to dance, with actual results! I’ve googled the physics and math of dance before, several times, but I guess I never got my wording just right. Turns out “physics of fouette” worked really well, except I didn’t find anything out about the physics of a fouette. The posts were all about fouette turns, which is not exactly what I was looking for, but my search did lead to this article and a few other semi-useful things.

Lately in class I have applied my findings. I still need to stretch out my hip-flexers/psoas more in order to fully utilize the physics. It’s difficult to keep your center of gravity directly over the floor support in order to equal a zero force when your pelvis insists on being overly tilted. But the idea is there, and it is helpful.

I find this all so fascinating and am working to more fully understand it, so keep a look out for posts along these lines. 🙂 Mostly today I just wanted to share about Ken Laws, so you should go check him out here!

Will you, won’t you, will you, won’t you, will you join the dance? ~Lewis Carroll

One thought on “Dance and Physics

  1. Pingback: Happy Me and Money in Banks :) | missvulcan

Leave a Reply

