Curious – The Story of an Aloe Plant

I’ve recently taken up work on my not-so-green thumb. (More on that later.) So I’ve bought some plants and pots and a watering can, etc.

I'm giving container growing on the balcony a go. They all sleep inside though until the warm weather comes to stay.

I’m giving container growing on the balcony a go. They all sleep inside though until the warm weather comes to stay.

One of the first things I picked up was a small aloe plant. My grandmother had aloe plants, my mother kept aloe plants, I learned to love them from an early age. They are a wonderful addition to the house for so many reasons, some I’m just starting to understand!

I’ve always taken to them, and then I learned how useful they are in a first aid way. I’ve definitely broken off a leaf or two to treat small burns and cuts with the gooey gel inside.

I recently discovered that they are a plant associated with the moon and water. They are protective, lucky, and prevent loneliness. It really explains why I am drawn to the sweet little things.

My little aloe plant sitting on his windowsill!

My little aloe plant sitting on his windowsill!

Anyway, I’m a namer. I love to name everything, especially inanimate objects and plants. So I’m looking for the perfect name the other night with my roommate and another friend. The name Alice came up, which was almost perfect, except I feel a masculine vibe from plants. I don’t know. So I was laying in bed tonight (yes, I’m a midnight blogger, what can I say, it’s that darn moon connection) and I was thinking about the aloe plant. Al. Alice. What about Hatter? I do love Andrew Lee Potts’ Hatter in the SyFy adaptation Alicewhich I mentioned before in the first “Wonderland Weekly.”

Then I realized ALP is what everyone online calls him. Potts? AL Potts? Really? Well, I haven’t decided on a name just yet, but things are getting curiouser and curiouser.

Oh, yes. And I almost forgot, we have internet as of less than 24 hours ago, so I am officially back barring any major fiascos! 🙂

Leave a Reply

