Ebb and Flow

“The fact that we live at the bottom of a deep gravity well, on the surface of a gas covered planet going around a nuclear fireball 90 million miles away and think this to be normal is obviously some indication of how skewed our perspective tends to be.” ~Douglas Adams

 

The Moon moves round the Earth. Everybody knows that, I think. And the Earth moves round the Sun. So, we all know we’re spinning very fast on this giant thing that has things spinning around it as it spins round other things all in this huge galaxy.

I think that everyone has heard at some point about tides being caused by the position and thus gravitational pull of the Moon. And I think most people have heard that our bodies are made of some largish percentage of water. 

So then, I think it makes sense now to say, if gravity affects our oceans, then it must also be affecting us. And if the moon’s changing position is what makes high and low tides, then what is it doing to our bodies?

Now, I didn’t come up with this, and I don’t actually remember where I first heard it, but it makes sense, right? 

So in dance class, when I suddenly can’t turn, or balance, or, heck, even stand up straight at the barre, it makes sense to me that there must be something different about my physiology that day. There is something different about the way I relate to the world every moment.

It’s no wonder we’re all constantly changing and growing and learning. The whole world is changing around us at different speeds and sometimes unnoticeable rates. We are just trying to keep up.

 ‘I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.’ ~ Douglas Adams

Leave a Reply

